Home About UH Academic Calendar Courses Undergraduate Education Graduate Education Degrees, Minors, & Certificates Colleges, Schools, & Academic Units


General Information


Academic Policies

MD Program

Honors and Awards

Graduate Medical Education Programs

Graduate Programs

Undergraduate Programs

Special Programs

Anatomy, Biochemistry and Physiology

Cell and Molecular Biology

Communication Sciences and Disorders

Complementary and Alternative Medicine

Family Medicine and Community Health

Geriatric Medicine

Medical Technology


Native Hawaiian Health

Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Women’s Health





Tropical Medicine, Medical Microbiology and Pharmacology

JABSOM Courses


School of Medicine

General Information

The John A. Burns School of Medicine (JABSOM) strives to improve the quality, effectiveness, and equity of health care delivery in Hawai‘i and the Pacific region. The school provides opportunity for qualified residents of Hawai‘i and the Pacific Islands, including students from various underrepresented socioeconomic and minority groups to qualify for an MD degree; provides MD graduates with competency to enter postgraduate programs; and provides residency training programs with emphasis on primary-care specialties.

The school also administers graduate research and professional programs that lead to MS and PhD degrees in the basics medical sciences and health-related fields; MS degree in Communications Sciences and Disorders; and, BS and a post-baccalaureate certificate in medical technology. Medical school faculty participate in undergraduate courses for majors in nursing, dental hygiene, biology, nutrition, and related fields. In addition, the medical school, in partnership with the Hawai‘i Medical Association and the Hawai‘i Consortium for Continuing Medical Education, sponsors continuing medical education for physicians in the state of Hawai‘i.

The school provides instruction for six major categories of students:

  1. Candidates for the MD degree who are admitted directly by JABSOM’s own admissions committee;
  2. Candidates for MS degrees in biomedical sciences (with concentrations in cell and molecular biology, clinical translational research, physiology, and tropical medicine), or in communication sciences and disorders apply through the Graduate Education of UH Manoa;
  3. Candidates for PhD degrees in biomedical sciences with concentrations in cell and molecular biology, epidemiology, physiology, and tropical medicine who apply through Graduate Education of UH Manoa;
  4. Candidates for undergraduate degrees in medical technology and public health, who apply through the UH Manoa Admissions Office; and
  5. Candidates for the Doctor of Medicine Early Acceptance Program who are admitted by JABSOM’s admissions committee.

In addition, a post-baccalaureate certificate for medical technology clinical training is offered.

The Kaka‘ako Waterfront Complex

In 2005, the John A. Burns School of Medicine relocated to a new 9.898 acre site in Kaka‘ako, on the water’s edge, between Waikiki and downtown Honolulu. The school’s previous location, the 43-year-old Biomedical Sciences building on the Manoa campus, continues to be occupied by the Department of Medical Technology, and by various research units. The school complex functions as an economic engine for the state that will create quality employment opportunities, increase biomedical research activity, and be a stimulus for the biotechnical industry in Hawai‘i.

Target areas of research, which include innovations in problem-based learning medical education, are retrovirology/infectious diseases/AIDS, molecular biology/genetics/neuroscience, genomic medicine, proteomics, and bioinformatics/computational biology.

The campus includes an incubator center (leasable research space) to provide biotechnology and bioscience companies a campus-like environment enabling collaboration with academic researchers. A major medical research center, with surrounding space for such companies, as well as Honolulu’s technology infrastructure and ties to Asia and the Pacific, will make the city of Honolulu a prime environment for the growing technology and biomedical research industries.

The school is accredited by the Liaison Committee for Medical Education (LCME) of the Association of American Medical Colleges and the Residency and Fellowship Programs are accredited by the Accreditation Council on Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).

Additionally, all civilian postgraduate medical education programs in Hawai‘i hospitals are accredited as UH John A. Burns School of Medicine-sponsored residency programs by the ACGME. Approximately 250 physicians (employees of Hawai‘i Residency Programs, Inc.) within 14 training programs serve as house staff members in these hospitals under the direction of medical school faculty from eight clinical departments. Oversight is provided by the Designated Institutional Official (DIO). Continuing Medical Education (CME) programs are accredited by the Hawai‘i Consortium for Continuing Medical Education (HCCME), a liaison committee between the Hawai‘i Medical Association and JABSOM, while the public health degrees are accredited by the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH), Medical Technology (MEDT) and Communication Sciences and Disorders (CSD) are accredited by National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences and American Speech-Language-Hearing Association respectively.


The school maintains affiliations with facilities for medical student and resident clinical training that include the following: Castle Medical Center, Hawai‘i State Hospital, Hilo Medical Center, Kalihi-Palama Health Center, Kaiser Permenente Moanalua Medical Center & Clinic, Kapiolani Medical Center for Women and Children, Kapiolani Medical Center at Pali Momi, Kokua Kalihi Valley Health Center, Kuakini Health Systems, Leahi Hospital, Maui Memorial Medical Center, The Queen’s Medical Center, Queen Emma Clinics, Rehabilitation Hospital of the Pacific, Shriners Hospital for Children, Spark Matsunaga VA Medical Center, Straub Clinic and Hospital, Tripler Army Medical Center, Wahiawa General Hospital, and The Physician Center.


Bachelor’s Degrees: BS in medical technology, BA in public health

Master’s Degrees: MS in biomedical sciences (cell and molecular biology, clinical translational research, physiology, and tropical medicine); MPH and MS in public health; MS in communication sciences and disorders

Professional Degree: MD

Doctoral Degrees: PhD in biomedical sciences (cell and molecular biology, and tropical medicine); PhD in developmental and reproductive biology


Premedical advising is available through the Pre-Health/Pre-Law Advising Center, Sinclair Library 108.

Academic Policies

Undergraduate and graduate students in the School of Medicine must adhere to the academic policies of UH Manoa. Medical students are exempted from certain UH Manoa policies and instead must follow academic policies germane to the MD program. Copies of relevant policies are available in JABSOM’s Office of Student Affairs.